Update to Victoria and New Zealand travel restrictions

22 Oct 2021

Public Health Services have announced that from 12:01am tomorrow (Saturday 23 Oct) travel to Tasmania will not be permitted for travellers who have spent time in the Darebin local government areas (LGA) in Victoria the 14 days prior to their arrival due to high-levels of community transmission. This is in addition to ten other LGAs where travel is not permitted at this time.

For more information on Victorian travel restrictions see Travel Alert.

Additionally, the South Island of New Zealand (NZ) will be down-graded to low-risk at 12:01am tomorrow (Saturday 23 October 2021).

From this time anyone who has spent time in the South Island, and not in any other high-risk areas or premises in the 14 days prior to arrival, are no longer required to quarantine upon arrival. Travellers will need to register their travel and contact details through the Tas e-Travel system no more than one day before they arrive.

The north island will remain high-risk (level 2). Anyone who has spent time in the North Island in the 14 days prior to arrival is not be permitted to enter Tasmania unless approved as an Essential Traveller.

Quarantine and other conditions are in place for all Essential Travellers. Travellers can apply for Essential Traveller status via the G2G PASS system.

A number of premises in NZ remain high-risk (level 1). Essential Traveller status will not be granted to anyone who has spent time in a high-risk (Level 1) premises at the specified dates and times. This includes Tasmanian residents. See Travel Alert for the list of high-risk premises.

Travellers from low-risk areas are permitted to transit directly through medium or high-risk areas without being subject to quarantine requirements when arriving in Tasmania if they comply with certain conditions. Read more about transit rules.